Editing My Book on an Exquisite Island

Standard

 

I have heard legendary tales of “real authors” who get to go on great retreats to wonderful get-away places to write amazing works. I didn’t get to do something like that when I was writing “Fortify Your Soul”. But, it just so happened that I got to review the editors notes while I was spending a lingering month on an island in the Gulf of Mexico. (Some photos below.)

Look at this stunning clear Gulf Coast Water in Boca Grande, FL~!

Look at this stunning clear Gulf Coast Water in Boca Grande, FL~!

This is not the kind of vacation that Brook and I normally get to take. A whole month~! We are self-employed, and we don’t get “paid vacation days”. If we don’t work, we don’t make money. So, it has been quite some time since we’ve taken a break from our normal, everyday life. My Mom has a lovely home on the coveted island of Boca Grande/ Gasparilla Island, and she has been inviting us down all the while. Finally, we packed up the bikes, the dogs, and loaded up for a good, long break.

That's me and my bike. Boca Grande, FL.

That’s me and my bike. Boca Grande, FL.

 

Brook riding his hand-cycle by what we've been calling Pelican Pier of Boca Grande, FL.

Brook riding his hand-cycle by what we’ve been calling Pelican Pier on Boca Grande, FL.

Pelicans on a Pier in Boca Grande FL.

Pelicans on a Pier in Boca Grande FL.

While there, I spent 10 days rereading “Fortify Your Soul” and poring over the editor’s revised text. During those same days, Brook and I went out for bike rides and explored. I swam in the 80-something degree Gulf of Mexico. And Brook and I were able to spend  a wonderful amount of time with my Mom and Jim.

mom's back porch, overlooking the lagoon

Mom’s back porch, overlooking the lagoon. This is where we would hang out the most. And there is our dog Boaz. He loved it out there.

The view from my bedroom in Boca Grande, FL.

The view from my bedroom in Boca Grande, FL. Many mornings we looked out to see manatees swimming in the lagoon.

Turquoise water in Boca Grande, FL.

Turquoise blue water in Boca Grande, FL. Truly a mind blowing color. I was in awe.

Laurie Hayden Bergey on Banyan Street, Boca Grande, FL.

Laurie Hayden Bergey on Banyan Street, Boca Grande, FL. The street is lined on both sides with these crazy-cool walking trees. There were always people there exploring and taking pictures (like us~!). I don’t think I’d want to live on Banyan Street~!

My beach in Boca Grande... I'm not telling you where it is~! I want it to stay this empty~!My beach in Boca Grande… I’m not telling you where it is~! I want it to stay this empty~!

The view from the water while swimming on my beach, Boca Grande, FL.

This was the view from the water while swimming on “my beach” in Boca Grande, FL. I walked out into the water, amazed at how warm it was… so warm that even I could wade right into the water~! I turned around to look back at the shore, and this is what I saw. This became my favorite beach.

Leave a Reply

