Envelopes as a Form of Fine Art

Standard

Envelopes as a Form of Fine Art

I found a delightful shop online today. I was delighted because I appreciate the medium of art. Stamped envelopes that are ready to mail~! Please look at the photos below. Don’t you totally want to send these to people you love? Or aren’t you inspired to start collecting stamps? I agree with him that writing letters is an art form that MUST be kept alive. (Thank you Patrick for the inspiration, and the legacies you will play a part in~!)

I will let this shop owner tell his own story, as he does it quite well. I will also let every image be a link that goes to his shop. At this moment, he has 96 different sets of envelopes for sale, and they have holiday or color themes. He also will take custom orders.

il_570xN.393581053_fp8x

Dear Pen Pal,

Patrick my name is and I live in beautiful Minneapolis, Minnesota – a land of ten thousand lakes and ten million dreams.

My love for vintage postage is genetic. My grandfather Earl (a WWII Vet and small-town Iowa farmer) was an avid life-long stamp collector. His postage collection is vast, and I have followed in his footsteps by carefully curating a collection of my own.

But unlike Grandpa who kept his collection buried in thick catalogs and dusty boxes deep inside his study, I want to share my vintage stamps, dispatching them through the postal system and beyond, with your help. Grandpa explored the world through his stamps but I want to share my stamps with the world.

The internet, for all its efficiency and convenience, has made communication something you cannot touch, cling to, keep, and pass down. When is the last time you received a thoughtful hand-written letter, a tactile note or a party invitation in your physical mailbox?

Postage is a beautiful but dying art form. Our mailboxes have been relegated to the status of junk depositories and checking the mail has become a chore rather than the adventure it once was, fueled by anticipation. I want to help change all this in my own little way… and I’m thinking maybe you do too.

Regards,
Patrick

il_570xN.432391757_b9to

il_570xN.384365310_ia94

il_570xN.415178524_nj6o

il_570xN.386590844_4uth

il_570xN.481158343_ls21

Christmas Ball Ornaments made with stamps

“Edelweiss Post is, with your help, keeping real mail alive and well, one stamp at a time.”

Click here to Link  to my other article on stamps and letter writing made more beautiful.  Join Patrick and me as we celebrate SNAIL MAIL~!

One response »

  1. Pingback: When Writing Letters Becomes an Art Form | Fortify My Life

Leave a Reply

