Dogged Determination

Standard

bellyflop

I have got to say, I LOVE the determination on this dog’s face~! He is not sitting back waiting for this ball to come to him. NOPE~! He is diving in, fully engaged. I believe that many of us need to be a bit more like this guy. Going for it, diving in, taking risks, and partnering with God to achieve many of the destinies available to us. Now, don’t get me wrong, I know God can do quite a bit without our help. I mean, he is omnipotent after all. But, our willingness, cooperation, and taking action have value.

Here is a quote which is often mistakenly attributed to the Bible: “God helps those who help themselves!” This is NOT in the Bible. It is a very old and valuable quote, in any case. It is believed that this quote comes from an ancient Greek proverb which influences other Greek literature and philosophy. Aesop is credited with a fable about a man who calls on the goddess Athena for help when his ship is wrecked and is advised to try swimming first.” (from wikipedia). That made me chuckle. But, how often have I been that person? There I was asking God to help me get a publisher for my book. It helps to send a book proposal to a publishing house~! That was a nerve racking moment for me. Taking a step of faith might not put us on the right path every single time, and the risk might seem terrifying, but it is a good starting place.

If you’d like a Bible quote to support this, the Bags of Gold Parable is a good example of God empowering and blessing people who were dedicated to growing and increasing His treasure, while the person who was afraid of taking any risks ended up losing everything. I also think of some of the healings that were performed by Jesus. He sometimes asked people to “do something”, after which a healing manifested. An example of this is a man whose hand was healed after Jesus said, “stretch out your hand”. I wonder what would have happened if he hadn’t? I’ll bet that he was very self-conscious and vulnerable at that moment. The Parable of the Bags of Gold – Matthew 25: 14-28 .  Stretch out Hand Story, Matthew 12: 1-13 .

***** PSSSSsssstt,  HEY YOU…..  If this daring dachshund has inspired you to GO FOR IT, drop me a note below and tell me about it~! I’d get a kick out of hearing from you~! Thanks~!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

